The Association


The Cherrybrook Chinese Community Association was established in 1989, and incorporated in 1990.

Cherrybrook is a relatively new suburb situated in the hills area in the west-northern part of Sydney. In 1989, there was already an emerging group of ethnic Chinese residing in the area. The need for mutual help and social and education help became prevalent. The Association was formed responding to this need.

The Association has endeavoured to promote community participation, to foster Chinese culture, and to assist members to integrate into the wider community. Its first projects were the establishment of Chinese language school for children and organizing English courses for adults who could not quite master the language. Many projects and programmes have been developed since.

Membership is open to all persons who subscribe to the purposes and objectives of the Association, regardless of race, religious belief and place of residence. Over the years, the Association has seen ups and downs in its membership due largely to social and economic changes and demographic movements but has remained committed in its work. As of 1 July 2013, it has a membership of 647.

Mission Statement

The Association endeavours to promote Chinese culture, community services and harmony in our multicultural society.


  • To foster a mutual understanding among the people of the various communities
  • To encourage members to take an active interest in the civic, cultural social and moral welfare of the community
  • To promote Chinese culture, education and ethics
  • To encourage young people to develop good citizenship, leadership and public awareness
  • To provide a forum for the open discussion of matters of mutual interest, the interchange of information and the personal development of all members
  • To promote the ideals of multiculturalism, and inter-racial harmony in the community


Loke Cheong Wong (1989 – 1991)
Yue-yan Chan (1991 – 1994)
James Chang (1994 – 1998)
Patrick Ho (1998 – 2000)
Michael Teh (2000 – 2002)
Lebow Fok (2002 – 2005)
Jenny Lau (2005 – 2009)
Ken Yap (2009 – 2011)
Yue-yan Chan (2011 – 2013)
Ken Yap (2013 – 2015)
Jenny Lau (2015 – 2020)

Kwok Ling Chau (2020 – current)